Trickle Down

I’ve spent the past week at a work retreat with people from all over the country. I’ve done a significant amount of informal marketing for my city, which often gets a bad rap because of stereotypes. I’ve also done a lot of observing and listening about what makes other areas cool, and it’s reaffirmed my belief that all hip things take about three years to trickle down to Houston. That’s why I love blogs, be they garden, home, architecture, fashion, lifestyle, or design ones: I’m always gathering ideas so that when the trends finally do hit my area, I’m already on it.

I came across the image below today, and to me, this is the perfect small garden and patio:

image from Flora Grubb

It’s the subtle things that make it so good. The fence is horizontal, but check out the openings between the slats–they’re graduated so slightly. I really like that horizontal and vertical fence posts are used. And the grey brick wall is an awesome contrast to the cactus and succulent garden with that cool little rusty divider snaking through the light rocks. I’ve been writing about the same pieces to make our future garden (here, here, and here, for example), so it’s great to see the idea all come together. I just wish it was mine!

I know, I know, patience…

Leave a Reply

